Learning spanish.. (1 Viewer)

elisabeth

HSC
I was thinking of taking a community college course on Spanish. I would be a complete beginner, not counting the few words I picked up from my sister's Shakira CDs and my little bro's Dora the Explorer tapes ;)

Anyone care to reminisce about when they first started Spanish, what they found confusing, how long it took to understand verbs/prepositions/other grammar?

Muchas gracias :)

mishka

HSC
N/A
i did spanish from year 8-12 and loved it!! :)

verbs are probably the hardest because there is a verb (say, "to go"). then there is a different word to say "i go", "you go", "she/he goes", "we go", "they go". then there is another word again for past and future tenses. so yes, it does get tricky. and then there are "exceptions" to the rule. they suck. :p

over time, you build a wordbank, and a bilingual dictionary is a must for people learning the language. go for a mid-size one - the pocket ones are handy, but the bigger ones usually provide more of an explanation to the verbs and so on.

spanish is a really nice language to learn, it helps if you have a good memory, but i found i could somehow relate most words in spanish to one in english or latin (not that i speak latin, but common latin prefixes and thingys).

community college is a great way to learn about all sorts of different things. last year i did an office skills course and i found it excellent. i think this way is the best, because you work to your own abilities and pace, so it's like self-directed learning. :uhhuh:

good luck, and if you have any further questions, feel free to PM me!! :D

elisabeth

HSC
mishka said:
i did spanish from year 8-12 and loved it!! :)