Majors and minors, as it happens (1 Viewer)

Scorch

HSC
I know that, for a BArts at least, you need 36 senior credit points to get a major in something, but are you able to get two majors just by getting 36 credit points in two areas? Is there a such thing as a minor, or a secondary major?

Just to help with context, I'm majoring in Ancient History (doing a Bachelor of Arts) but I was hoping to study linguistics, as well. With my study of Italian, the only way I'd be able to get enough credit points to major in Linguistics as well would be to not do Italian for one semester in third year (currently in first year), because I didn't do any linguistics in first year and I'll have to take the first year course next semester.

Anyway, getting back to my question, if getting enough credit points to major in both of them (though I could always take 5 subjects in a semester if I was really dedicated ... *shudder*) was not an option, does the University recognise your points in that subject in any other way, for example saying you have a major in Ancient History and minored in Linguistics, or something like that?

goony

i am here to ride bike
HSC
The number of credit points differ from faculty to faculty. e.g. School of IT only requires 24 credit points of 3rd year subjects for an info systems or computer science major, whereas i think most arts ones are 36 3rd year credit points plus a few 2nd year ones and i think something like HR and industrial relations need 42 credit points worth of 'core' subjects (2nd and 3rd level subjects).

Check up on the faculty you are interested in doing a major in (some courses may not count towards the major, or you have to take a certain combination of 2nd/3rd year courses for it).

Some faculties also offer minors. School of IT is the only one i know that does. You just have to do 18 credit points of 2nd year subjects i think. Maths and physics have something like that too iirc.

HSC