My Creative Writing story (1 Viewer)

RoryC

HSC
Hi everyone, I just wrote this because everyone was talking about pre-preparing stories. Im not that good at writing, or with english in general, so I was wondering if people would mind having a look at it for me? Its only around 700 words. Any feed back would be great :)

It was 5:30 and already the sun had dipped behind the hill to the west, leaving the cold of winter and shadows in its wake. The boy trudged through the long grass and across the old train tracks that separated the boys home from the back road that ran into the towns industrial heart. His feet upon the back road the boy drew the hoods from the two jackets he wore over his head in a vein attempt to shield his face from the wind. Training started at six and he disliked being late, the boy thought to himself as he readjusted the duffle bag on his shoulders which held his gear; a mouth guard, a bottle of water, hand wraps and his boxing gloves.

The back road was long and narrow, barely wide enough for two cars to pass, and when they did the boy had to stop and shelter on the side of the road lest he be hit. The boy journeyed along the road, occupied by thoughts and memories of training, there was little else to entertain him, to one side of the road stretched fields of ugly yellow grass, dotted with the odd native gum tree, choked and decrepit looking in the thrall of winter. On the other side of the road, to the boys left, running parallel to the back road ran the old train tracks the boy had crossed to reach the back road. No, it was not a very visually appealing journey the boy thought to himself as he returned to his thoughts.

He thought of training, of kind old Frank the trainer, Francisco the Freak they use to call him, the first aboriginal boxer to represent Australia at the Olympics in Tokyo 1964. But those days are behind old Frank now.