Need help plz newbie here fob (1 Viewer)

geoff18

HSC
Hi im a yr 11 student who's about to enter yr 12
Newayz im just wondering if there's anyone here who like moved from standard english to advanced and if there are ppl who did, can u tell ur expereince and whether u find the course hard to easy compared to standard. Also will be pretty happy if ne one can like give me advise to stay or moved to advanced english. My english tutor told me to move from standard to advanced and im still hesitating whethere to move cause my standard teacher suggested me not to. I got 71% for my preliminarys and came top of my class but like still im struggling to come to a decision whether i should move to advanced to stay in standard... thx a lot for u guys' help... looking forard to replies...

airie

airie <3 avatars :)
HSC
Wow. Never knew that you could actually move from Std to Adv English o.0

Forbidden.

Banned
HSC
You shall stay in English Standard, two members from English Advanced moved to our class, Advanced proves too difficult for them.
If I stay in English Standard, I shall reign in the Top 10 at English Standard once again. So LOL dun join english advanced unless yuo wanna get owned !

ianc

physics is phun!
HSC
yes, in advanced you will face significant competition, but don't let that be a deterrent.

there was a girl who came first in standard in year 11 and she moved to our advanced class for year 12 upon recommendation from the teacher. She ended up doing very well, i reckon she'll get a good band 5 or possibly a band 6 for her hsc mark

So talk to your teacher, because they'll have the experience to know whether you're capable of advanced. I don't think the work itself is much harder, although you do study more difficult texts (advanced students have to study a Shakespeare). But they simply expect much higher quality work than in standard.