NEED URGENT ADVICE: Can I/Should I do a Commerce degree when I've no Comm Background? (1 Viewer)

cssftw

HSC
Hey guys, I don't know if I should do commerce or not - I haven't done Economics or any other related subject in HSC - but as far as the subject goes, I don't hate it, nor do I love it, it sounds fairly interesting, and I might find it enjoyable. Might.

So tips, opinions, any forms of advice, okay GO! xD Seriously I'm an absolute lostie on this and all though it is fairly insignificant its eating me up inside. :(

Thanks for the opinions guys

a037422944

HSC
Uni Grad
Re: NEED URGENT ADVICE: Can I/Should I do a Commerce degree when I've no Comm Backgro

First year doesnt have any real prerequisites. You can get by without having any previous idea about commerce/economics as it is all in the textbooks/lectures/tutorials. If you do it for a year and realise that you hate it, it will still give you a strong foundation in the operations of business and trade and can transfer to whatever else you might find interesting. Personally i think the content is related to everyday life so its worth a try!

cssftw

HSC
Re: NEED URGENT ADVICE: Can I/Should I do a Commerce degree when I've no Comm Backgro

do they teach u the basics of commerce/economics? like absolute baby steps - basics??

gwenwiver

HSC
N/A

UTS has business degrees which have 8 foundation subjects, one of which is economics in the first year
http://handbook.uts.edu.au/courses/c10026.html#F17
Mathematics and any two units of English are assumed knowledge

UWS has similar system with a common core of units
http://handbook.uws.edu.au/hbook/course.aspx?course=2753.1

You can check out other universities to see if they also have introductory subjects in the first year.
If you are in Victoria Monash has the same system.

So you don't need to worry.

Shadowdude

Cult of Personality
HSC

If you might find it enjoyable, try it. If you're not sure, you should have a back-up plan.

a037422944

HSC
Uni Grad