query about med (1 Viewer)

teenangel

Hey PPLZ!

I am currently a year 12 student and I am really keen on doing medicine @ UNSW. I discovered that I really want to do med just this year. I know that I am not going to get ‘99.99’ as my UAI which u need to get into med the first year. So I now want to first get into a science or medical science course @ UNSW and then transfer to Med like in the 2nd year. But I went onto the UNSW med site, and it said that if u get less than ‘95’ for ur UAI and u want to transfer to Med during uni, then it is basically ‘impossible’ to because ur tertiary studies can never add up to the amount needed to get into Med.

But what if I get into a science or medical science course and I want to transfer? Both of these courses have UAI’s that are less than 95. So say if I get into the science course, then does that mean I don’t have a chance of getting into Med during uni?

OR is the best option to finish the ‘science’ or ‘medical science’ degree and then sit for the GAMSAT? but that would take much longer…. I don’t know…

Can U guyz give any suggestions? Any help will be appreciated!!!!!

THANX………

:confused:

santaslayer

HSC
I'm only answering part of this question:

It is highly unlikely that you will be able to transfer to UNSW Med if your UAI is below 95.00. :)

inasero

Reborn
HSC
So say if I get into the science course, then does that mean I don’t have a chance of getting into Med during uni?

OR is the best option to finish the ‘science’ or ‘medical science’ degree and then sit for the GAMSAT? but that would take much longer…. I don’t know…