Quitting Coles (1 Viewer)

Nelly_04

HSC
I've been working at Coles for about 5-6 months as a casual and for various reasons want to quit. Does anyone know the period of notice a casual must give before resigning?

The main problem is that I have just come back from a month leave. I still have to contact the store to tell them I'm back and that I would like to quit. I would prefer to do this over the phone, but would it be better to do it in person? Its just much easier to meet my line manager on phone than it is to find her in person, but I'm afraid it might seem a little rude.

Also, is it acceptable to ask for a reference letter if quitting over the phone? And is a letter of resignation necessary?

kylie_robbo

Yes a resignation letter is necessary, it doesn't need to be handed to her personally - leave it somewhere that she will find it. Don't attempt to resign over the phone - word of mouth is not enough.

No, it is not acceptable to ask for a reference letter if you are quitting over the phone. Nor if you quit for "various reasons". If you quit, don't expect a reference letter.

Nelly_04

HSC
I thought it would be okay to ask for a reference letter as well...or at least to ask if you can use the line manager as a future referee, to apply for other jobs and what not.

I thought of a better approach to quitting, just wondering what you guys think: Call up line manager, tell her I'm thinking of quitting and discuss the reasons (increased uni workload and would like to find a job closer to uni etc.) and then ask if she would like a resignation letter. If yes, I could go and hand it in personally. Also, ask if I would be able to use her a referee/get reference letter from Coles when applying for jobs in the future.

Would that be polite and nice way of leaving? Any tips on doing it better?

hipsta_jess

Up the mighty red V
HSC
N/A