Should I Drop Out Of Uni & Go To Tafe? (1 Viewer)

Beege

HSC
This year I've been doing a bachelor of arts (media & communications) at UNSW. I was expecting the degree to contain a lot of practical work because I want to work in either video/film or sound when I graduate. I've found that only ¼ of my degree is practical and the rest is theory. I've found the theory really pretentious and I don't see how I could use it in full time work. I'm talking about stuff like social/media/identity theory. I have no problem with the workload but I just think I'm not fitting in at uni. I'm more of a hands on person than a theory person and I'm not a big fan of writing. Should I drop out of uni and do a cert 4 then a diploma in digital media (save thousands of dollars) or stay at uni?

Davo1111

HSC
N/A
Try and get an internship with a media company, do uni part time. Well that's what i'd do anyway. (might have to do 2nd year though)

Strawbaby

General Store
HSC
Sounds like having a hands-on TAFE qualification, where you've had a lot of experience in the practical side of film and television and have produced a great show reel, would be more valuable to finding employment than a theory-based university degree where you've got a bunch of marks but nothing to actually show for it.
Looks impressive, but when it comes down to practical experience, you'll be kind of stuck.

Case in point - my boyfriend is doing Creative Arts at university, and for a year did a non-awards course in film and television at the Victorian College of the Arts as well. He learned far more in each weekly session of VCA about cameras, shooting, lighting setups, editing, writing, the industry etc than he's learned in two years of creative arts. Whenever he has to produce a film for a group assessment at uni, he's more or less the only one who can actually, practically do it.
You can learn theory until you're blue in the face but that doesn't mean that when you get put behind a camera, you can film.