Should I retake accelerated maths? (1 Viewer)

mxhelle

HSC
So I haven't been the best student leading to my hsc year for maths(2U), but I did put proper effort to do well for this final year. I was averaging around 80-90% for my assessments until I got sick during trial preparation period ended up getting 65% in my trials and ranked 31/51 (my school is ranked 60-70). There's only 6 days left until the exam and I've been doing the best I can with my amotivation, but I don't feel prepared at all. I have been wondering if it is a good idea for me to resit the exam and try again with a fresh mindset. I know I can do better. Of course I intend to sit the test this year anyway and use that to work on my weaknesses, but I have seen countless forums saying that it is useless to resit when I can just use that time to study for other subjects.
In total I'm studying 10 units, and I don't think it's quite an overload since all I need to do for maths is constantly revise.
But is it truly a waste of time?

totally_screwed

Baddest Member
HSC
helloo
It's not a waste of time to resit only if you're 100% sure that your results the 2nd time will be a drastic improvement from the 1st time. there's no point resitting if you're gonna go from an 83 to an 85, not worth the effort in that case. like you said it won't be too hard on you if you retake a course you've already been through, it'll just be revision for you.

I know a friend who did biology accelerated last year and got band 5, and she's resitting it this year to hopefully get a band 6. it's been easier for her since she's familiar with the course, the assessments and the exams. she's been studying for her other subjects just fine. you'll be okay even if you resit, there's nothing useless about it at all, provided you do a lot better the 2nd time!

jazz519

HSC
Uni Grad