Studying japanese unaided (1 Viewer)

eviltama

Mentally Deranged Maniac
HSC
Oki, im currently studying japanese at home here. I'm not doing it thru any sort of course or anything so ...
a) What advise do you have that might help me? ie pit falls to avoid.
b) What books do you reccommend or websites?

I have a book here that shows me how to draw kana and kanji.. but other than that its not really any use. It might be in the future.. but not now. So yeh.. Anyone?

babydoll_

wat
HSC
N/A
make sure your pronounciation is right... cos the japanese vowels are a lot simpler than english vowels and its easy to make mistakes in pronounciation

j-belle

suki :D
HSC
N/A
Originally posted by eviltama
Oki, im currently studying japanese at home here. I'm not doing it thru any sort of course or anything so ...
a) What advise do you have that might help me? ie pit falls to avoid.
b) What books do you reccommend or websites?

I have a book here that shows me how to draw kana and kanji.. but other than that its not really any use. It might be in the future.. but not now. So yeh.. Anyone?
What's your motivation?

j-belle

HSC
N/A
Originally posted by Frigid

JSG :D
Originally posted by Newbie
THATS MY MOTIVATION TOO :(
Hey at least you 2 are honest :p

Well, the Japanese girls at uni aren't school girls anymore (although they would have brought their uniform here for some reason). They'd be more interested in learning English from/with you, but I'm sure speaking Japanese with them could be an interesting novelty.

Unless you wanna get your degree, go to Japan and become a Papa ;)

Papa = older man, who pays JSGs to spend time with him

eviltama

Mentally Deranged Maniac
HSC
Originally posted by j-belle
What's your motivation?
1) the language itself.
2) the culture
3) anime and music

^_^
I love learning new languages, i just have never undertaken to learn one entirely by myself before.

Lexicographer

Retired 13 May 2006
HSC