• Want to help us with this year's BoS Trials?
    Let us know before 30 June. See this thread for details
  • Looking for HSC notes and resources?
    Check out our Notes & Resources page

The 'Law Students' Lounge (1 Viewer)

Skeeter

Banned
HSC
This thread is dedicated to regular law chit-chat and as a forum for law students and future law students to chill.

I'm a hopeful future law student, but I was just wondering if I would be allowed into the law course since I'm only doing Standard English. Anyone who can shed some light on this issue would be much appreciated. Cool! Now chill. :)

hfis

Dyslexic Fish
HSC
N/A
Skeeter said:
This thread is dedicated to regular law chit-chat and as a forum for law students and future law students to chill.
Sweet! That sounds just like this forum I visit, I think this is an awesome and chill idea! Chill!!!

And no, doing standard english doesn't preclude you from doing law. You do however require a decent ability to think critically and pull things apart, which is what advanced english aims at building in you. It doesn't hurt to be able to write decent essays from day 1, either.

Skeeter

Banned
HSC
hfis said:
Sweet! That sounds just like this forum I visit, I think this is an awesome and chill idea! Chill!!!

And no, doing standard english doesn't preclude you from doing law. You do however require a decent ability to think critically and pull things apart, which is what advanced english aims at building in you. It doesn't hurt to be able to write decent essays from day 1, either.
But right now, I'm topping Legal Studies and I'm absolutely shitting on everyone else (I'm modest...as you can see). No but seriously, I think that I'm not too good at analysing texts which are handed out in english, but I can critically analyse a piece of case law and extract from it its significance and what not.

Would I be able to do a bridging course?

melsc

Premium Member
HSC