Time spent travelling to work (1 Viewer)

hannahxxx

HSC
K well I'm applying for jobs. I want to work around 15hrs per week and I'll be situated in North Ryde (doing a single degree).

Problem is that I'm seeing all these legal receptionist/library jobs that look great ($23 p/hr), however it'd take me about 1hr to get there. I don't have a car and I'm reliant on public transport.
Obviously I won't be able to apply for them, but how far away is too far away?

BlackDragon

HSC
It depends on how far you are prepared to go on a regular basis. I'd say half an hour (max) is fine. Anything more would get really annoying.

Its takes me four minutes on a bike to get to my work..

Tulipa

Loose lips sink ships
to the left, a little below the right and right in
HSC
It takes me around 30-40 minutes to get to work in the city. However the pay is awesome. Best I think I could get for an 18 year old ($24.50) and I work as a casual paralegal at a really good law firm.

So I think it's worth it.

lilou

HSC
I'll be travelling about 15 minutes by bus plus 60 mins by train then a short walk...each way to work each day! (I rely on public transport too!)

I think it'll be ok...

hannahxxx

HSC
Tulipa said:
It takes me around 30-40 minutes to get to work in the city. However the pay is awesome. Best I think I could get for an 18 year old ($24.50) and I work as a casual paralegal at a really good law firm.

So I think it's worth it.
Could I ask how many hours you work per week? Just curious cos most of the ads I've seen don't talk about hours for those kinda positions.

Also does any1 know if studying on public transport is viable? Lol or is trying to study with rowdy teens in a crowded bus/train just a nice ideal?

Tulipa

Loose lips sink ships
to the left, a little below the right and right in
HSC