To buy or not to buy...ipod video... (1 Viewer)

Sydney, Australia, Earth, Milky Way...............
HSC
Okay. Having looked at the past threads, the ipod video has gotten some pretty good reviews. I'm considering buying a 30GB one - I don't have 60gb of music + videos + photos, the 60gb looks a little bulkier and I don't really want to spend the $130. I currently have only a Panasonic Discman which has served me faithfully since 2000, and that's why I was thinking of an upgrade in the portable music stakes, but I haven't owned any kind of ipod before, so I'm a real newbie. Would anyone please help me with my questions?

1. Someone once told me that you can only use an ipod with one computer; if you try to use it with more than one all the music will disappear. Is this true?
I have a desktop and a laptop, but all my music is stored on an external hard drive which goes between both computers. If sync it with my desktop using the external hard drive as the storage folder, then take my external drive to another computer, will any conflicts arise from 2 computers accessing the same music folder?

2. Headphones. How are ipod headphones? Do they break easily? I used to buy my headphones for my discman from the $2 shop, putting up with bad quality sound because they would break after 3 months and I'd have lousy sound coming out of one side.

3. Economics. a) When is the price of ipod videos likely to drop? From memory the Minis fell substantially after Christmas last year.
b) Are they likely to drop at all? Is this particular generation of ipods worth the cost?

4. Competitors. I've heard about the iRiver, Sony and the Creative MP3 players, but to me they won't have a big enough capacity - I'm looking for something to store and display videos and photos as well as music. However, how does the ipod video compare with these lower-capacity players in stability, battery life, hardiness...?