UNSW Co-Op Interviews (1 Viewer)

Seb160066

HSC
Hi, I just received interview offers for UNSW's Compsci, Mechanical and Software engineering co-op streams and just had a few questions on the interview process.
1. Does anyone know what the typical ratio of Interviews to Awarded Scholarships is?
2. What sort of questions are asked in the interview?
3. How hard is it to meet the Co-op's 96 ATAR requirement? I'm a Kiwi student currently doing NCEA so I've got no clue on how Australian grades work.

Also, is it common to get multiple interview offers? Or did I just get really lucky?

jimmysmith560

Le Phénix Trilingue
HSC
Uni Grad
2. In addition to favourable academic performance, UNSW seeks the following qualities in candidates:
  • making a significant contribution to school or community
  • showing initiative and leadership
  • communicating well
  • enjoy working with other people
  • wanting to be active within the university and Co-op community
  • having a genuine interest in a career in industry or a government enterprise in their chosen program
  • being ambitious and keen to contribute
  • caring about what is happening in the community, country and the world at large.
Emphasising such qualities at the interview could assist you in maximising your chances of admission. Based on these qualities, here are some questions that could potentially be relevant to the interview:
  • Why do want to study your chosen degree?
  • Why did you specifically opt for a cooperative education program?
  • How do you intend to use this educational opportunity beyond university?
  • What are your expectations as a future student studying the Co-op Program?
  • Do you have a strategy to maximise your learning and ensure favourable performance?
  • What does school mean to you?
  • Tell me about a time when you did something good for your school.
  • Are you involved in your local community?