UNSW vs USYD vs Macquarie vs UTS Mechanical/Mechatronics Engineering!!! (1 Viewer)

shy9488

HSC
N/A
Well hello to all!
I'm a canberrean student looking to study in SYDNEY!!:wavey:

My estimated atar is 85 and I applied for some 'schemes' which will boost my atar a little. I could be in a good position to get into UNSW and USYD for mechatronics or mechanical engineering, right now their cut off is at ~91.

I have some questions!

1.Macquarie only need somewhere below 80 atar, so Im just wondering, does the uni I go to REALLY matter in terms of future career prospects?
I heard employers only look at your graduation certificate and your work experience. So in this case, should I go to a less 'demanding' uni?

2.Is it easier to pass or get better marks at macquarie than UNSW or USYD?

3. I'm interested in both mechanical engineering and mechatronics. But which do you prefer??

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE HELP!

someth1ng

Retired Nov '14
HSC
Uni Grad
Well hello to all!

My estimated atar is 85 and I applied for some 'schemes' which will boost my atar a little. I could be in a good position to get into UNSW and USYD for mechatronics or mechanical engineering, right now their cut off is at ~91.

I have some questions!

1.Macquarie only need somewhere below 80 atar, so Im just wondering, does the uni I go to REALLY matter in terms of future career prospects?
I heard employers only look at your graduation certificate and your work experience. So in this case, should I go to a less 'demanding' uni?

3. I'm interested in both mechanical engineering and mechatronics. But which do you prefer??

1. Aim for USyd and UNSW - jobs for engineering (currently), are already quite scarce. Going to a second tier university will just make that even worse.
2. Probably not - it's all standardised.
3. It's about what YOU prefer, not what we prefer.

Riproot

#MedLyf
HSC
Uni Grad