UWS (engineering/construction management) (1 Viewer)

dibe4

HSC
hi i was just wondering if ppl at the penrith campus, doing engineering(civil) or construction management can comment on the course, how are you finding the course? is it diffculty? interesting?

im considering to do engineering or construction management at penrith campus?? whiuch would u recommend me to do?

thanks

pottsy44

HSC
dibe4 said:
hi i was just wondering if ppl at the penrith campus, doing engineering(civil) or construction management can comment on the course, how are you finding the course? is it diffculty? interesting?

im considering to do engineering or construction management at penrith campus?? whiuch would u recommend me to do?

thanks
hey i do construction management on the blacktown campus, as i am in the last cohort to be able to study there.

i only do the course part time though as i work full time. in 06 i worked as a quantity surveyor and in 2 weeks i start as a building surveyor for blacktown council.

i believe the UWS structure for CM is very good in comparision to other universities that have the same natured course (UTS and Newcastle).

if you apply yourself you will do well. but you will probably find yourself doing what i do and most other students do in the construction management degree, which is working full time in the industry as work experience is absolutely essential to the work we do. compared to other courses we have a very high number of students that study part time and work full time, this is reflected in the fact that half the units are night classes.

anybody that has a general interest in construction will enjoy the course i believe.

as i have only completed 4 units so far i am not fully in the position to commit on the type of work. but roughly 1/3 maybe more of the units are practical units. you also have to learn about the law (business, building, environment) and there is detailed units that go through different aspects of the construction phase.