Want to play bass any suggestions? (1 Viewer)

MuffinMan

Juno 15/4/08 :)
HSC
Hey,
I've always wanted to play the bass, but I ended up getting an electric guitar instead, been playing for like 6 months now. I'm ok at it, I can play most of "otherside" and a few other songs (mind you, I started learning otherside like 2 weeks ago), but I also want to play bass. Does anyone have any suggestions for electric basses and how much do they cost, where they got them from etc etc.)

P.S. My favourite bass is the Fender P Bass :)

MuffinMan

HSC
Eh, I only have like 1000 to spend. Kinda limits me to squiers hey?

Hahaha I have a Fender Squier Bullet, kinda crap but hey, I'd probably switch to a Stratocaster (like a proper fender later this year)

What is wrong with Fenders?

Last edited:
G

Gavvvvvin

$1000? Is that just for the bass, or amp too? Either way you can get a top notch set up for that price...certainly not limited to Squires.

neafoo

HSC
My advice would be to go and play some basses, you know what a guitar feels like so that should give you a basis for the feels you like in a guitar.

and with $1000 you can buy a mid range rig most probably. I dont know if basses are similar to guitars in regards to amp and sound quality. Basically if you have a shit guitar, but a good amp, you can get decent sound, but if you have a shit amp and a great guitar you will usually get terrible tone. So if thats relevant to bass i suggest you keep it in mind.

MuffinMan

HSC
neafoo said:
Basically if you have a shit guitar, but a good amp, you can get decent sound, but if you have a shit amp and a great guitar you will usually get terrible tone.
So true hey!