People don't know HOW to learn. (1 Viewer)

yasminee96

HSC
The fundamental reason why people study so much unnecessarily is because they don't know how to learn properly. I don't mean just rote learning but rather attaining knowledge, people don't know how to do so and must therefore compensate by studying much harder.

Discuss
I actually don't understand how people can literally study all day. For example people say "can't go out im studying this weekend". The only thing i personally do is complete homework tasks. But when i do them, i don't just do them and then be happy with the answer if i'm right - i go through it and see WHY it's right, as opposed to only what i did wrong.

If someone listens to everything a teacher says in class, surely they'll get a lot more knowledge and hence waste less time trying to figure things out. If you have a terrible teacher, do something about it, talk to your teacher or to someone who'll take action - it's your HSC; or simply get a tutor.

I notice a lot of people rely on tutors way too much. Some people literally sleep in class and say "it's okay my tutor will teach me" which defeats the purpose of a tutor? You'll learn a lot more by listening to other people's questions and being taught once in class briefly, and then again in depth with a tutor which imo is really effective.