Bachelor IT major Information Systems (1 Viewer)

TomHSC2012

HSC
Hey all,

So I'm anew student who will be studying IT this year at Macq. This will be my first year. I am wondering if anyone could tell me where to locate information such as 'suggested patten of study', as I would like to know what I will be studying and when. I need this for enrolment but at this stage I can only find a tony amount of information on what I will be studying first year and when. So far I have looked at the Macquarie University Faculty of Science, Department of Computing Units for first year. This webpage gives me a list of what I will be studying, for example, COMP115, COMP 125, ISYS100, ISYS1004, ISYS114, COMP111. If thats what I am studying for my first year Can I make a 'timetable' based on that? I have also found on the faculties page a list of undergraduate units designated for Information Technology, what does this mean? Do I have to do all of them? How do I pick them? When do I study them?

Lastly, My brother is doing Arts BA DIP ED, and his faculty has all this information already there! It even has a suggested program of study. Does the faculty of Science have this as well?

Thanks in advance,

Tom.

PumpedUpKicks

HSC
Hey Tom,
It's gonna be my first year in IT this year too :) I pretty much had the same problem as yours, but I got in contact with my UniWISE mentor, and she helped me through choosing the units for first year, etc. Yes, you can make a timetable out of that, seeing as the units do tell whether they run in first/second session and get the timings and the locations as well. You can do like 4 units per session, which is normal, and the information on the website lists enough for at least four units. I had a question about the 'electives' or what else we're supposed to study apart from the core computing and business information systems units, and I got directed to the online mq handbook unit guide. It might help you with your questions.