Bachelor of Commerce/Bachelor of Arts.....worth doing? :/ (1 Viewer)

filip23

HSC
just wanted some opinions...

i'm interested in doing a combined commerce degree with a bachelor of arts (majoring in a language). is it even worth doing this combined degree? i've heard so much about an arts degree being 'as useless as the paper it's printed on'. i'm very interested in languages and all the uni brochures talk about this combined degree option as 'giving students a competitive edge in the job market'. does it really? would it be that recognised when entering the employment market?

i'd appreciate any of your thoughts/experiences...

Shadowdude

Cult of Personality
HSC
Yes it is worth it.

Plus say you learned Japanese, and you have a Commerce degree. You can kinda somewhat do business in Japan, or work for a firm with Japanese clients - and you learning Japanese is a huge plus.

filip23

HSC
do you still think it's worth it if i majored in a European language such as French or German? i have been discouraged by some from studying a European language as they say there are more commerce-related employment prospects in Asia...

Shadowdude

Cult of Personality
HSC
Do what you want. I mean, you'll have a Commerce degree anyway - it just so happens you have a language to boost it.

HSC
Uni Grad
do you still think it's worth it if i majored in a European language such as French or German? i have been discouraged by some from studying a European language as they say there are more commerce-related employment prospects in Asia...
Depends on your purpose of learning that particular language. If you're up for the money factor, well, I would suggest Spanish (lots and lots of people speaking Spanish in the world + potential growth in Spanish speaking countries), but tbh, don't only go for the money factor.

I know people only chose Chinese for the money factor and they hated it to death.