Career Advice: Optometry vs Occupational Therapy (1 Viewer)

aks441

HSC
Current Yr12 student here, if anyone knows any pros or cons about these fields please let me know. I am still trying to figure out what I want to be, I have been doing some research but I'm still not sure which is the better option.

Optometrist: decent pay but not as many job options/vacancies
OT: less pay I think, but more options + job opportunities

pay is obviously important, online it shows optometrists as $20-30K higher pay annually than OTs but I guess that just depends. But then again OT has higher future growth.

advice or any other suggestions for careers are greatly appreciated (high paying occupations w reasonable atar entry - preferably in the health/science sector🙏)

nick4nick6

HSC
Hey! I'm a 2022 graduate that has chosen to do Occupational Therapy at WSU in 2023. Occupational therapy is one of the most varied professions, as you can work in a wide range of settings. This may be anything from pediatrics, rehabilitation, ergonomics and assisted technology, mental health and other settings, both sub acute and acute. Yes, the pay may not be initially particularly high, but this seems to be consistent with other entry level roles in other allied health professions (Think of speech pathology, podiatry, and physiotherapy). However, there is potential to grow in your career and enter managerial/supervisory positions which earn upwards of 100k a year. These include running your own business and hiring other employees to work for you, or working in a managerial position in a public health service supervising junior OTs. There are even options to enter the field of research and lecture at university, but this would require a postgraduate degree (most likely, a PhD). Yes, the pay is mediocre compared to other fields, such as medicine, and other industries (engineering, commerce), but the main reason people choose a career in allied health is due to the satisfaction they gain from helping o