Engineering (Civil Eng w Arch) (1 Viewer)

c3075162

HSC
Hi

I am studying civil engineering and business at the university of newcastle, final year. The two are very different in nature, engineering consulting is more analytical and technical, architecture is more visual and drawing orientated from my what I have seen so far. Basically, they come up with a conceptual design and engineers make them work lol.

I think it's better to combine engineering with something else, like commerce, business, science, environmental etc

Anyway, have fun
Dan

kaz1

et tu
HSC
Uni Grad
This won't give you an advantage it's normal cven with 4 extra architecture subjects.

KD

HSC
N/A
New Graduates get Industry Thumbs- Up
Date: Tuesday, 11 October 2011
http://www.civeng.unsw.edu.au/node/720

In 2007 the School introduced its innovative Bachelor of Engineering degree - Civil Engineering with Architecture - and a small adventurous group of students embarked on the new pathway. This year the first CwA graduates left the shelter of the University and went out looking for work in the competitive and tough minded world of industry.

How did they fare?

Astonishingly well, by all reports – from the graduates and from their employers.

Alice Tjitradjaja, who was awarded the University Medal in 2010, finds her new life in industry ‘exciting, fast paced, dynamic.’ She works with leading structural design company ARUP Australia in the Building Facades Discipline. ‘The heart of the job’ she says, ‘is design. Not only limited to technical/engineering but also heavily involved in coordinating and discussions with architects, builders, contractors and so on. My undergraduate education has better prepared me for design, a constantly evolving and iterative process – far from being straightforward.’