How do I study at uni? (1 Viewer)

afc123

HSC
I'm doing my 4 cores for a bachelor of commerce. All through school I studied very effectively by re-writing the textbook in my own words. Although I was always left with books and books of notes I could manage with doing a few 400 pages books over the year. I need to hand write my notes as it is the only way I can retain information. I've tried summarising but it does not work for me as I like to have my notes as thorough as possible. Now I have 4 textbooks ranging from 450-750 pages. I don't know what to do because it is already taking me too long to write notes despite me being able to understand them extremely well after going through them.

HeyJes

Academic Tutor @ UNSW
HSC
Uni Grad
You wont have time to do that... all that rewriting thingy

Shadowdude

Cult of Personality
HSC
How do you study?

Mainly doing the questions and the problems. Writing notes should be something you do last.

afc123

HSC
Writing notes is the only thing I do. I remember everything I write down very well, that's why I stuck to this method. Plus, it's time consuming so I never had time to move on but I didn't feel like I needed to anyway.

kurst

HSC
Uni Grad
i used to do pretty much exactly what you're doing! my excuse is i barely studied until the month before hsc exams so i didnt know any better when it came to uni. so first semester i fell very behind :( you'll need to change this habit now if you're finding it too time consuming. you dont need to write ANY notes to learn something. the time you're taking to put pen to paper or fingers to keyboard could be spent doing at least twice the amount of reading. im doing science so maybe it's different but what i do is:

- read the lecture notes before the lecture if they're available (if not then find what the subject will be and read the textbook or whatever)
- during lectures just sit back relax and pay attention
- answer tute questions before the tute