Is it wise to do both ancient AND modern AND history extension? (1 Viewer)

gilly_bean

HSC
I'm planning on doing 10 units next year so doing 5 units of history means I would spend half my time doing essentially one subject. I LOVE history and I'm a fairly good student however I already do content heavy subject (legal studies, 3 unit english) so I feel like it may be too much work and content to remember. Any suggestions would be wonderful, thank you :)

enoilgam

HSC
If you love history, then go for it - people manage with a lot heavy subject loads.

Verify

HSC
I do both histories and I find that the workload is not heavy at all. Both modern and ancient are very different in content and are both enjoyable in their own ways.

-may-cat-

Tired Member
HSC
Keep in mind that History Extension is historiography (the history of historical thought). A lot of people who really like history hate historiography. If you're unsure read some Hayden White or Foucault, you'll figure out if you like it or not reeeeeaaaal quickly.

Last edited:

Lina3

HSC
I'm planning on doing 10 units next year so doing 5 units of history means I would spend half my time doing essentially one subject. I LOVE history and I'm a fairly good student however I already do content heavy subject (legal studies, 3 unit english) so I feel like it may be too much work and content to remember. Any suggestions would be wonderful, thank you :)
If you feel you are capable of this, then it shouldn't be a problem :) Remember though, the 'secret' (well, its sort of obvious) in doing really well in history is to do extra reading of your own (i.e not specifically as 'study', just for enjoyment) because going beyond the syllabus gives you a better mastery of the content and doing 5 units of history might make this harder than just doing 2 or 3 units.

hit patel

HSC
Uni Grad