• Want to help us with this year's BoS Trials?
    Let us know before 30 June. See this thread for details
  • Looking for HSC notes and resources?
    Check out our Notes & Resources page

Notes for Unit Circle (1 Viewer)

od9895

HSC
Hello
I need your help guys. Do any you guys have notes or past exams on the unit circle because apparantly my tutor said it is compulsory to know how to use the unit circle in trig. Please help!!!

Thanks

Carrotsticks

Retired
HSC
N/A
Perhaps you can use that tutor to help you get notes? That's what they're paid for after all....

Unless you want a tutor FOR your tutor, who tutors for your school.

deswa1

HSC
The unit circle isn't a topic by itself so you won't find a whole exam on it. What exactly do you need help with and I'll try and come up with something :)

od9895

HSC
I need help with everything on the unit circle because I am new to my tutor and I dont know anything about it

RealiseNothing

what is that?It is Cowpea
HSC
Draw a unit circle (centre 0,0 on a number plane with radius 1).

Now draw 2 diagonal lines through the centre ( should look like y=x and y=-x ).

The angles these lines make with the x axis are called the related angle. The top right quadrant is the first, followed by the top left, then bottom left, and finally the bottom right being the 4th quadrant.

You should have 4 related angles, each in a different quadrant. Draw perpendicular lines straight down from the intersection of your diagonal lines and the unit circle, this will make 4 congruent right angled triangles. Let the angle made at the origin of the triangle be theta.

Now you can use sin/cos/tan to prove a few indentities for theta in each of the 4 different quadrants. Hint: Let the hypotenuse be 'r' as it is the radius of the unit circle, and then let the vertical side of the triangle be 'y' and the horizontal side be 'x'.