• Want to help us with this year's BoS Trials?
    Let us know before 30 June. See this thread for details
  • Looking for HSC notes and resources?
    Check out our Notes & Resources page

Question about driving a manual car (2 Viewers)

yenta

veyron <3
HSC
I'm a relatively new manual driver, and I tend to 'ride the clutch' sometimes which results in this certain smell coming from the car. If u know what I'm talking about, how bad is riding the clutch for the car? Is it going to damage the gearbox or anything?

Ziff

HSC
N/A
VERY

You will destroy the clutch plate and have to get it replaced which costs $$$

If anything just take the clutch off, even if it's too fast all that will happen is you'll do a wheelspin... it's less detrimental to the car.

yenta

veyron <3
HSC
Yeah but I'm worried about stalling if i take it out too fast and the revs are too low...I find it very hard to take the clutch out without revving til its fully out and not stalling :S

Ziff

HSC
N/A
If the revs are too low then press more on the acclerator :p

You'll get used to it soon anyway!

yenta

veyron <3
HSC
Lol i knowwww but...does the clutch have to be completely out before you're sposed to rev it more? Or can your foot be pressing it in a bit? Sorry I'm just totally new to manuals, I prefer autos anyway

anti

aww.. baby raccoon ^^
HSC
clutch in, rev, clutch out, accelerate and off you go

you don't actually need to rev it to accelerate. get used to the friction point on the clutch - this is where it actually grips. practise on a quiet street

and don't ride the clutch, just dump it and do a fancy burnout - people will think you know what you're doing :D

Malazn Pleasure

External Auditor
HSC
Originally posted by yenta
I'm a relatively new manual driver, and I tend to 'ride the clutch' sometimes which results in this certain smell coming from the car.
when was the last time u had a shower?

HSC
Originally posted by RCMasterAA