question on spin on nucleons (1 Viewer)

angmor

momentica-one.deviantart.
HSC
i know its not in the syllabus, but anyone care to explain clearer for me what it actually means?

how does a pair of nucleons with opposite spins give them stability?

Rohanesburg

HSC
Spin is a phenomenon based on Pauli’s exclusion principle. The stability of the atomic structure due to spin, is purely a mathematical descripition based on heisenburg's uncertainty principle. And as a consequence there is no actual 'spin' of the nucleons, it is just a mathematical description of atomic structure.

xiao1985

HSC
N/A
I'm no expert in spin of nucleons, but as far as the spin of electrons go, they do "spin" in a sense... which is why unpaired electron carries a magnetic moment.

If I recall correctly, Pauli's exclusion principle is one used to describe electron configuration. As such, spin is definitely a observable phenomenon.

darkchild69

Nanotechnologist
HSC
I believe it is to do with the net orbital angular momentum equalling zero

angmor

HSC
oh great time to reply - one year after my hsc :p

zagga20

HSC
Ok so yeah, this is a bit late for you... but for those of us who are still interested.

From what i read in Stephen Hawking's, A Brief History of Time.

Spin is a description of a particle.
Particles with Spin 0, are particles that are viewed the same, no matter how you rotate it.
such as a circle, or a dot.

Particles with spin 1, need to be rotated 360 degrees until they can be viewed in the same state.
such as an arrow -->

spin 2, need to be spun 180 degrees.
eg. <-->

and spin 1/2 must be spun 720 degrees until they can be viewed in the same state
eg... i...dont...know...

I believe this is just a description of their angular momentum though, because they dont physically spin, they just HAVE angular momentum.

either that, or i misread what good ol' hawking was trying to say. which is entirely possible!

angmor

HSC