Should I integrate the two texts in my essay? (1 Viewer)

Constantine

HSC
Since this is a comparative study I've done my first integrated essay where I discuss both texts in the same paragraph. I've never done it before since I always only ever talked about one text per paragraph in my preliminary years.

My question would be is it better to integrate or do it separately?

Amaranth_

HSC
N/A
I always found it better to do my texts separately. My teacher who was a senior HSC marker told me to go by the date in which the text was published. So for example, my Module A which was Elizabeth Barret Browning poetry and The Great Gatsby, I was told to put EBB first because of the publish date.

As this is a comparative study, it is pivotal that you use words of comparison such as: "similarly, contrarily, on a different notion, on a similar view". Through this, you adhere to the guidelines of the comparative study and it also enables you to analyze and discuss the texts in more depth and sophistication.

Constantine

HSC
I always found it better to do my texts separately. My teacher who was a senior HSC marker told me to go by the date in which the text was published. So for example, my Module A which was Elizabeth Barret Browning poetry and The Great Gatsby, I was told to put EBB first because of the publish date.

As this is a comparative study, it is pivotal that you use words of comparison such as: "similarly, contrarily, on a different notion, on a similar view". Through this, you adhere to the guidelines of the comparative study and it also enables you to analyze and discuss the texts in more depth and sophistication.
Personally I think while integrating is great it really doesn't do you any good if you can't do it well. Doing the texts separately will work just as well as long as you show the links between using the "words of comparison" as you said. I'll definitely keep this in mind!

Thanks for the reply!
:)

Mdyeow

HSC
Uni Grad