USYD Dalyell Scholars VS UNSW Engineering (Software) (1 Viewer)

cosmicbard

HSC
I am a current year 12 student about to enter university and I'm deciding between USYD's Bachelor of Engineering (Software) (Dalyell Scholars) and UNSW's Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) (Software). The main concern that I have between the two is that I've heard from many people that in order to graduate from the USYD Dalyell Scholars program, you needed to maintain an average WAM of 75% and I've also heard that its extremely difficult to maintain said average. So I was just wondering for anyone who's experienced the Dalyell Scholars program, in particular, those who do the software engineering program, how difficult is it to maintain that 75% WAM and how much study do you do regularly?

Also any advice for do's and don't's in the program would be much appreciated

Porogamiii

HSC
Also a year 12 student here so take what I say with a grain of salt but from what I've heard Dalyell isn't really that worth it as you basically just lose electives for some advanced classes and get like $2k for exchange. Also not sure how many employers would even know what it is so not sure if it would give that big an advantage in the job market.

I think a more important thing to consider is the majors that each uni offers. USYD SWE majors are actually more focused on hardware/electrical being IoT, computer engineering or intelligent processing whereas UNSW doesn't have majors for SWE but there's quite a few more electives from comp sci like cybersec meaning they have more software options than USYD. USYD advanced computing is more software heavy than SWE turns out.

jazz519

HSC
Uni Grad