• Want to help us with this year's BoS Trials?
    Let us know before 30 June. See this thread for details
  • Looking for HSC notes and resources?
    Check out our Notes & Resources page

Advice on whether to drop subjects? (1 Viewer)

Espy25

HSC
Hello, new member, been a lurker for a while but recently signed up and this is my first time posting.

Firstly I'd like to state that I'm doing 12 units at my school (rank: around 50th) and they are as follows:

4 Unit Mathematics Extension 2
2 Unit English Advanced
2 Unit Physics
2 Unit Economics
2 Unit Legal Studies

As of now, I'm contemplating on whether to drop Extension 2 Maths or Physics as they are my weakest subjects and also require the most effort to learn in my opinion. My teachers have told us to figure out what to drop after we've done our half yearlies, to reassure ourselves that it's for the best. I haven't had an Ext 2 Test due to my school's weird schedule but I've done Physics and am doing average if not slightly below. If I drop physics I'd have 10 units and if I drop Ext 2 Maths i'd have 11 units. I was thinking 11 is safer than 10 but dropping Physics means that I don't have to split my focus on a COMPLETELY different subject such as Physics. However I'd have 10 units and I am told it isn't safe. Dropping Ext 2 on the other hand means I'll have 11 units but I'm not sure if I can do well in Physics.

However there is an option of dropping NONE and just spending more effort and time to ensure a higher ATAR. I am aiming for 95+ or around.

Just an extra question, between Ext 2 Maths and Physics, which would require more effort/give bigger workload?

Thank you.

someth1ng

Retired Nov '14
HSC
Uni Grad
I would drop Physics. Maths Extension 2 has immensely high scaling so "doing bad" could be as good as getting a 90 in another subject. Also, if you drop Maths Extension 2, Physics will definitely count as a "good" but not incredible scaling subject so not doing good in it will most likely pull you down.