architecture vs. civil engineering (1 Viewer)

daman

HSC
<!-- / icon and title --><!-- message -->i cant seem to decide between the two. i've read all the course descriptions and spoken to all the academics and still the two courses seem too good to differentiate between. like they both appeal to my tastes.

ive put engineering as my first preference however i always wanted to be an architecture and recently ive been watching this show on tv, "property ladder" on the lifestyle channel (kickass show), and now im leaning towards property development.

the thing i didnt like about architecture was the artistic side of it like the dandy drawing stuff because i aint good at it and i dont enjoy things im not good at

the thing i like about civil engineering was the planning/development of large urban areas

just in case i live my life in regret of not taking up architecture i was wondering if i could hear the students opinions on their courses

so finally: what are the good and bad points of civil engineering and architecture?

p.s i know this may not be the most appropriate place for this thread, but hey i need some opinions

Adam

HSC
I'm doing Civil Engineering and loving it to bits, everything about it, so my opinion is pretty much void.

Our lecturers do say that architects make more money for doing less, though.

Purp|e

miesynth
HSC
brogan77 said:
Ummmm, ahhhhh...In architecture you architect things and in civil engineering you engineer things...civilly.

This post deserves to go in the BoS Best Posts Ever Hall of Fame.
^ what he said!

but dont ask me ... im very biased. :eek::(

daman

HSC
Adam said:
I'm doing Civil Engineering and loving it to bits, everything about it
what makes it so good, specifically?

withoutaface

Premium Member
HSC
Architects design the buildings to look pretty, civil engineers are there to say "no, fuck off, that won't work"

Adam

HSC
^ pretty much