Help. Is 10 units better than 12? (1 Viewer)

Bobsh

HSC
N/A
Ok I tried this UAI Calculator & ATAR Calculator UAI calc, and It's been giving me retarded results..

I am currently studying
English Standard.
Business St.
Visual Arts
IPT
Ancient History
General Maths.

Thats a total of 12 units. When I use the calc and say I want a 90 uai and leave out having "general maths" the marks needed average 80-90 which is achievable.. But when I add general maths to the calculation and say if I got "83" as the mark my UAI count goes down 5 points?

So does this mean having 10 units is better than 12 as stuffing up in one subject brings your UAI count down.

ALSO, Im in year 11

spammy679

MLIA
HSC
stuffing up a subject just makes it not count

i'm also intrigued by this question.
stats show that around 40% or so people did 12 units and got 99+
but as the uai range went down, the percentage of people who did 12 units went down and the percentage of people who did 10 units went up :confused:

annabackwards

<3 Prophet 9
HSC
stuffing up a subject just makes it not count

i'm also intrigued by this question.
stats show that around 40% or so people did 12 units and got 99+
but as the uai range went down, the percentage of people who did 12 units went down and the percentage of people who did 10 units went up :confused:
It's because the "smarter" people are able to/like to do more subjects, whereas the relatively more "lazy and intelectually challenged" people tend to want to do less.

That doesn't mean you can't get 99.95 with 10 units though; it's just a trend.

deviousgeek

The Game.
HSC
I used to do 14 units until I stuffed up chem and decided not to carry it through.

To be honest, I don't really see an issue doing 12 units, unless you have a job or something else and you work hard to ensure you do well in all your 10 units.

Aerath

Retired
HSC
N/A
There's nothing wrong with doing 10, 11, 12 or even (maybe) 13 units. Anymore, and it'd be a little strange. =\

Gussy Booo