My subjects are:
English Advanced 2nd
English Extension 2 2nd
2U Maths 12th
Legal Studies 1st
Ancient History 1st
History Extension n/a (just started)
Biology 1st

Is it sensible to be doing 13 units when only the best 10 are counted?

...and what kind of ATAR can I expect with those subjects?

*note - I go to a pretty average high school. Last years top ATAR was 94.something, and that kid did all the science-maths subjects.

HSC
bega is famous for cheese

anyway..it's hard to say what your atar will be cos you're topping most of your subjects..so it'll just depend on how you go in the exams..
like you've probably seen a 10000000000 times, any subject combination can get you a 99.95 atar
in terms of doing 13units..that is quite excessive..but u can always drop 2u maths or whatever you feel crappest in

im a 4u english student and i hope you enjoyed reading that post~

Last edited:

Aerath

Retired
HSC
N/A
13 Units is a bit much in my opinion. That's just my opinion, a kid in my grade did 13U in Yr 12 and still got 99.45 ATAR.

So yeah, it's ultimately your decision, though. :)

Dragonmaster262

Unorthodox top student
HSC
It shouldn't be that bad as long as you enjoy the courses you're doing. But in case you don't really like any of your subjects then neglect it like me.

twistedrebel

HSC
If your future career path doesn't include maths, i would think about dropping maths. Think about it almost a quarter(23% to be exact) of your effort is for nothing.

jet

Banned
HSC
Question 1) Do you like them all?
Question 2) Do you have future career aspirations?
Question 3) Are you afraid of hard work?

Aquawhite

Retiring
HSC
Uni Grad
I will effectively be studying 13 units this year... although I have accelerated some and some courses are offline as well, so it's a little different. I'm sure the workload is very similar though.

If you're not enjoying any of the courses, I'd suggest getting rid of them.

pman

Banned
HSC